ALENE HAEHL COGGIN, Executive Director

As an alumna of HISD’s Kinder High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, Alene has a long-standing appreciation for the caliber of Houston’s exceptional arts high school. Before returning to Kinder HSPVA in her current role, Alene spent several years as a consultant with AndrisinAbbey, LLC, a boutique consulting firm for non-profit organizations, where she guided organizations through strategic growth of their development programs. She graduated magna cum laude from Boston University’s prestigious University Professors Program with a cross-disciplinary degree in the Management and Development of Non-Profit Organizations. Alene is a member of the Bayou Bend Docent Organization and the Association for Fundraising Professionals.

Contact Alene


CHARLOTTE WYATT, Development Manager

Charlotte graduated magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Fordham University with a degree in Theatre and Philosophy. She completed a Master of Fine Arts at the University of Houston’s Creative Writing Program last spring, where she served as a Fiction Editor for Gulf Coast: A Journal of Literature and Fine Arts.  She teaches fiction in Houston for Inprint and WriteSpace, and also serves as the Fiction and Admissions Director for the Napa Valley Writers’ Conference.

Contact Charlotte


JOAN MURRIN, Volunteer Manager

Joan has been connected to HSPVA Friends since 1998, including serving as a member of the Board of Directors from 2008-2017. As the mother of two alumni, Joan has a deep appreciation for the benefits of a Kinder HSPVA education and draws upon her own experiences as an HISD parent in her current role as Volunteer Manager. Before dedicating her time to arts and education, Joan was an attorney in Dallas, Texas and spent several years as in-house counsel for American Airlines. She is a 1975 magna cum laude graduate of Bryn Mawr College and a 1978 graduate of the University of Texas School of Law.

Contact Joan


Karen Ostrum George,  Chair 

Hon. Grant Dorfman, Secretary 

Frank Angelle, Treasurer

Robert L. Boblitt, Jr.

Algenita Scott Davis

M. Kaye DeWalt

Susan Workman Elmore

Kathleen Fenninger

Jo Furr

Kimberly Hickson 

George Lancaster

Frank Staats 


Dr. R. Scott Allen
Minnette Boesel
Jean Brackendorff
Laurie Bricker
Terri Brown
B. Thomas Cook
Tamarie Cooper
Janette Cosley
Cissy Segall Davis
Bob Eury
Dean Gladden
Hon. Bonnie Hellums
Rich Levy

Barry Mandel
Agelia M. Pérez Márquez
Samantha Barlow Martinez
Patrice McKinney
Kenn McLaughlin
Steven McNamara
Kathryn McNeil
Dr. Robert Morgan
H. Joe Nelson, III
Patrick Palmer
Herb Pasternak
Kathryn Priest
Sally Reynolds

Nancy Rose
David Sheard
Jerome B. Simon
Robert Singleton
Howard Speight
Kimberly Sterling
Susanne Theis
Austin Thomas
Tamara Thompson
Phoebe Tudor
Dr. Robert Yekovich
Carol Young
Dr. Lois Zamora