Thank you for attending the
14th Annual Encore Luncheon at
The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts!

Click here to see the photo album from the 14th Annual Encore Luncheon!

Please check back this fall for information about next year's luncheon.

About the Annual Encore Luncheon

Each year, HSPVA Friends’ Encore Luncheon raises vital funds for art area supplies, state-of-the-art technology, specialized teachers, and other essential building blocks required by Kinder HSPVA’s rigorous arts curriculum. The proceeds from the luncheon go directly to these needs, supporting the dedicated young artists who work every day to excel in their crafts. Traditionally, the Encore Luncheon features one of Kinder HSPVA’s Distinguished Alumni. A list of our past honorees can be found on this page.

Check out photos from the 2019 Encore Luncheon!

Thank you to our Underwriters!


The Boblitt Family

Kinder Foundation



Evelyn and Frank Angelle/Kolache Factory



Maire and David Baldwin

Elmore Public Relations

Karen and Larry George

Janis and Paul Jarosz

Lisa and Jerry Simon

Kimberly Hickson and David Spaw

Thompson & Horton LLP

Phoebe and Bobby Tudor



Julie and Mark Boone

Grant Dorfman

Kathleen Fenninger and Friends

Mindy and Thomas Harper


Jackson Walker

Tammy Kidd

McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.

Katharine Newman

REIS Associates LLC & Midway

Kris and Neil Thomas


Edward R. Allen III

Minnette and Peter Boesel

Drs. Camille and John Boon

Terri Brown

Susie and Sanford Criner

Jean and Bo Brackendorff

Discovery Green Conservancy

Gayle and Bob Eury

Marita Fairbanks

Jo and Jim Furr

Donna and Chris Gaut

Donna Lax-Edison and Andrew Edison

Dr. Bruce and Reva Edison

Eileen Montgomery and David Sheard

Barry Moore

Robbie Pape

Vicki and Herb Pasternak

Julia and Thomas Pascal Will Robinson

The Rounce Family

Mr. and Mrs. John Schmitz

Shah Smith & Associates

Samuel Shehadeh

Frank Staats

About the 2020 Honorees

Photo by Mark Seliger. Food Styling by Rhoda Boone.
from Will Boone's The River, part of his solo show Highway Hex at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston,

For the first time, we chose not one but two Distinguished Alumni: siblings Rhoda Boone Lane (’97) and Will Boone (’01) in 2020. Rhoda and Will graduated from Kinder HSPVA’s Visual Arts Department and have achieved great success in commercial art and fine art, respectively. Rhoda is a Food Director for Condé Nast, producing a myriad of video content each week for America’s favorite cooking publications: Epicurious and Bon Appétit. After launching her career in photography and styling, Rhoda found her home in the foodie world—now, thousands of people count on her to curate the next big trends in the kitchen. Younger brother Will has risen to the top echelons of the fine art world, with major installations and shows in California, New York, and Europe. Taking inspiration from music subcultures and classic Texas imagery, his work includes graphic paintings, immersive installations, and precise sculptures. This month, he opened his first solo museum exhibition, The Highway Hex, at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston. Together, Rhoda and Will demonstrate the inspiring range of possibilities opened to students equipped with an HSPVA education.

Distinguished Alumni

Chandra Wilson

Emmy Award-winning actor, director, and producer best known as Dr. Bailey on Grey’s Anatomy

Jason Moran

Jazz musician and MacArthur fellow

Camille Zamora

Internationally-acclaimed soprano

Bianna Golodryga

Co-host of CBS This Morning and CNN contributor

Sara Hickman

Folk singer/songwriter and 2010 State Musician of Texas

Matt Mullenweg

Social media entrepreneur and co-founder of WordPress

Mireille Enos

Tony and Emmy Award-nominated actor best known for her work on The Killing and The Catch

Mark Seliger

Former lead Rolling Stone photographer best known for his iconic portraiture

Bryan-Michael Cox

9-time Grammy Award-winning songwriter and producer

Harris Wittels (1984-2015)

Writer, musician, comedian, and producer

Susan Choi

Novelist and Winner of the National Book Award;

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

Rhoda Boone Lane & Will Boone

Food Director for Condé Nast & Fine Artist